Rest Haven Court, Springfield
Opening in 1947, the Rest Haven Court was one of the first motor courts encountered by westbound travelers on Route 66 and remains one of the few original Route 66 motels left in Springfield today.
In 1955, the Phillips 66 gas station that stood out front (and also served as the motel office) was dismantled and reassembled out back and used for storage.
This 32 room motel is reasonably priced, pet-friendly and boasts free Wi-Fi for guests. Despite a recent renovation, the Rest Haven Court has retained its old school charm and the neon out front certainly catches the eye at night.
According to "Route 66 In The Missouri Ozarks" by Joe Sonderman, the beautiful neon sign was designed by original owner Hillary Brightwell and erected in 1953, serving as inspiration for the Munger Moss in Lebanon.